Quantum initiatives

Due to the large number of projects and international research projects, the following overview can only represent a selection of initiatives in this rapidly growing technology area.

German initiatives and projects

QuNet: FhG (Heinrich-Hertz-Institut, Berlin), DLR (Oberpfaffenhofen), MPG (Max-Planck-Institut für die Physik des Lichts, Erlangen).

The goal of this project is to build and develop a quantum network that ensures tamper- and eavesdrop-proof data transmission between federal agencies.

GeQCoS: Walther-Meißner-Institute (BAdW), FZ Jülich, Infineon, KIT-Karlsruhe, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, TU München, Fraunhofer Institut für Angewandte Festkörperphysik (IAF).

The greatest challenge in the realization of quantum computers is to generate stable qubits. The joint project GEQCOS pursues the goal of implementing qubits based on superconductors.

Quasar: FZ Jülich, Infinion, Einrichtungen der FhG (IAF, IPMS), Leibniz Gemeinschaft (IHP, IKZ), die Universitäten Regensburg und Konstanz, HQS Quantum Simulations GmbH

The aim of the project is to implement and demonstrate a microarchitecture without geometric scaling limits, which is based on so-called spin qubits. The qubits are based on semiconductor technology and have the advantage over superconducting qubits that they can also be used at higher temperatures.

DAQC: IQM Germany GmbH, FZ Jülich, Infineon, LRZ , FU Berlin, Parity Quantum Computers.

The project aims to create and operate a digital-analog quantum computer (DAQC). Embedded in a high-performance environment, the quantum processor is intended to reduce computing time, thereby demonstrating the superiority of such processors.

European initiatives and projects

FLAGSHIP: Quantum Flagship Program

The Quantum Flagship consists of 24 projects dealing with different sub-areas of quantum technology, such as simulation, computing and communication. The goal of this European project is to develop a scientific basis throughout Europe in this research area. The project also aims to create a competitive industry for quantum technologies. Europe is to become a center for innovative research, business and investment.

EuroQCI : European Quantum Communication Infrastructure

Founded by 9 EU member states in 2019, this initiative aims to develop new cryptographic methods to protect critical communication structures. To this end, new quantum cryptographic and secure quantum products and systems are to be embedded in conventional communication networks. There are now 25 countries (including Germany) involved in this program.

International initiatives and projects

Caltech und Fermilab: California Institute of Technology und Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

For the quantum internet, the so-called quantum teleportation is essential. Two testbeds were equipped with the latest quantum devices to perform the most accurate teleportation of quantum information over a distance of 44km.

Stand: 07.06.21

Quanteninitiativen

Aufgrund der Vielzahl an Projekten und internationalen Forschungsvorhaben kann der folgende Überblick nur eine Auswahl an Initiativen in diesem stark wachsenden Technologiebereich darstellen.

Deutsche Initiativen und Projekte

QuNet: FhG (Heinrich-Hertz-Institut, Berlin), DLR (Oberpfaffenhofen), MPG (Max-Planck-Institut für die Physik des Lichts, Erlangen).

Ziel dieses Projekts ist es, ein Quantennetz aufzubauen und zu entwickeln, das eine manipulations- und abhörsichere Datenübertragung zwischen Bundesbehörden sicherstellt.

GeQCoS: Walther-Meißner-Institute (BAdW), FZ Jülich, Infineon, KIT-Karlsruhe, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, TU München, Fraunhofer Institut für Angewandte Festkörperphysik (IAF).

Die größte Herausforderung bei der Realisierung von Quantencomputern ist es stabile Qubits zu erzeugen. Das Verbundprojekt GEQCOS verfolgt das Ziel, Qubits auf Basis von Supraleitern umzusetzen.

Quasar: FZ Jülich, Infinion, Einrichtungen der FhG (IAF, IPMS), Leibniz Gemeinschaft (IHP, IKZ), die Universitäten Regensburg und Konstanz, HQS Quantum Simulations GmbH

Ziel des Projektes ist eine Implementierung und Demonstration einer Mikroarchitektur ohne geometrische Skalierungsgrenzen, welche auf sogenannten Spin-Qubits aufbaut. Die Qubits basieren auf Halbleiter-Technologie und haben gegenüber supraleitenden Qubits den Vorteil, dass sie auch bei höheren Temperaturen einsetzbar sind.

DAQC: IQM Germany GmbH, FZ Jülich, Infineon, LRZ , FU Berlin, Parity Quantum Computers.

Das Projekt verfolgt das Ziel der Schaffung und des Betriebs eines digital-analogen Quantencomputers (DAQC). Eingebettet in eine High-Performance Umgebung soll der Quantenprozessor die Rechenzeit reduzieren, um damit die Überlegenheit solcher Prozessoren zu demonstrieren.

Europäische Initiativen und Projekte

FLAGSHIP: Quantum Flagship Program

Das Quantum Flagship besteht aus 24 Projekten, welche sich mit verschiedenen Teilbereichen aus der Quantentechnologie, wie z.B. Simulation, Computing und Kommunikation, beschäftigen. Ziel dieses europäischen Projektes ist es, eine wissenschaftliche Basis europaweit in diesem Forschungsbereich auszubauen. Außerdem verfolgt das Projekt das Ziel eine wettbewerbsfähige Industrie für Quantentechnologien zu schaffen. Europa soll ein Zentrum für innovative Forschung, Wirtschaft und Investitionen werden.

EuroQCI : European Quantum Communication Infrastructure

Gegründet von 9 EU-Mitgliedsstaaten im Jahr 2019 verfolgt diese Initiative das Ziel, neue kryptografische Verfahren zum Schutz von kritischer Kommunikationsstrukturen zu entwickeln. Dazu sollen neue quantenkryptografische und sichere Quantenprodukte und -systeme in konventionelle Kommunikationsnetze eingebettet werden. An diesem Programm sind mittlerweile 25 Länder (inkl. Deutschland) beteiligt.

Internationale Initiativen und Projekte

Caltech und Fermilab: California Institute of Technology und Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

Für das Quanteninternet ist die sogenannte Quantenteleportation unerlässlich. Es wurden zwei Testbeds mit den neuesten Quantengeräten ausgestattet, um eine möglichst genaue Teleportation von Quanteninformationen über eine Strecke von 44km durchzuführen.

Stand: 07.06.21